Subtitle:For A Socialist United Ireland
Years Published:19721996
Published By: Militant
Other Names: Militant Irish Monthly  (19721986)
  Issues in the Archive:6
Discuss:Comments on this publication


Militant was the paper of the Militant tendency in Ireland, first produced in 1972 as Militant Irish Monthly, following a couple of “special Irish editions” of Militant’s eponymous paper in the UK.

From 1984, it began publishing separate Northern and Southern editions. In 1986 the title of both editions was shortened to Militant. From 1993, the Northern edition became Militant Labour. At the same time, the Southern edition changed, first to Militant Socialist, and later to Militant, with the tagline “The Socialist Paper”.

The final issue was produced in 1996 and announced the formation of the Socialist Party. It was succeeded by Socialist Voice.


Show: Covers | Chronological list


Mick Barry, Alan Bermingham, Jacqueline Clarke, Mark Cleary, Joan Collins, Dermot Connolly, Tom Crean, Ciaran Crossey, Clare Daly, Pat Duggan, Emmet Farrell, Susan Fitzgerald, Finn Geaney, Peter Hadden, Martin Hamilton, Barbara Hawkes, Tom Healy, Joe Higgins, Denis Keane, Terry Kelleher, Brian Kinkead, Jerry Lynch, Billy Lynn, Manus Maguire, Kevin McLoughlin, Niall Mulholland, Fiona O'Loughlin, Bridget O'Toole, Vivien Seal, Pat Smyth, Peter Taaffe, John Throne, Dennis Tourish, John Vaughan, Alex Wood

Note: This list is not exhaustive. Only named authors with entries in the archive are listed here.


No Comments yet.

Add a Comment

Formatting Help

Comments can be formatted in Markdown format . Use the toolbar to apply the correct syntax to your comment. The basic formats are:

**Bold text**
Bold text

_Italic text_
Italic text

[A link](
A link