1900 1905 1910 1915 1920 1925 1930 1935 1940 1945 1950 1955 1960 1965 1970 1975 1980 1985 1990 1995 2000 2005 2010 2015 2020
1900 1905 1910 1915 1920 1925 1930 1935 1940 1945 1950 1955 1960 1965 1970 1975 1980 1985 1990 1995 2000 2005 2010 2015 2020

Timeline of the Irish Left

This diagram shows the historical development of left political groups and parties since the beginning of the 20th Century in Ireland.

We are indebted to John Goodwillie, whose 1960-1983 diagram, published in Gralton, provided the foundation for this timeline.

About the timeline

Last updated 9th of December, 2019

  • Dashed lines indicate links between groups, either through membership or cooperation.
  • Where an organisation's dissolution date is estimated, it is marked with a double line.
  • Click on grey entries for more information. (Light entries are not currently in the archive).
  • Some names are shortened. Hover over any entry to reveal the full name.
  • Circular entries are concealed for space. Hover over these to show them in full.
  • Colours are for visual clarity, and may not represent the party/group.
Women's Social and Progressive League Belfast Anarchist Collective Anti-Fascist Action (Ireland) Anarchist Workers' Alliance Red Action Working Class Action International Marxist Tendency in Ireland Friends of Soviet Russia Dublin Anarchist Group Anarchist Bookshop Collective Dublin Anarchist Collective Class War Anarchist Federation in Ireland Revolutionary Anarcha-Feminist Group (RAG) Socialist Women's Group Belfast Women's Collective Ballymena Anarchist Group Organise! Syndicalist Solidarity Network Organise! Anarcho-Syndicalist Federation Organise! Ireland (Solidarity Federation) James Connolly Workers' Republican Clubs Revolutionary Socialist Party Women Against Imperialism Workers' Solidarity Movement (WSM) Belfast Socialist Group Socialist Party of Ireland (1949) World Socialist Party Frontline Collective Anti-Austerity Alliance (AAA) Solidarity International Anti-Imperialist League Dawn Group RISE Militant Militant Labour Socialist Party Dublin Trades Council National Labour Party Labour & Trade Union Coordinating Group Labour & Trade Union Group Community and Workers Action Group CWI Ireland Labour Party Cork Socialist Party National Progressive Democrats Liaison Committee of the Labour Left Socialist Labour Party (SLP) Cork Unemployed Action Group Socialist Alternative Campaign for an Independent Left United Left Alliance (ULA) Anti-Austerity Alliance - People Before Profit Solidarity - People Before Profit Irish National Unemployed Movement Irish Unemployed Workers' Movement Socialist Republican Party Irish Workers' Group Workers' Power United Left Cross-Community Labour Alternative Young Socialists Socialist Workers' Movement (SWM) Socialist Workers' Party (SWP) Socialist Workers' Network (SWN) Independent Labour Party (UK) Young Socialists Alliance Revolutionary Marxist Group (RMG) Movement for a Socialist Republic Workers' & Unemployed Action Group (WUAG) Socialist Party of Northern Ireland Socialist Labour Action Group Socialist Labour Alliance United Labour Party International Socialists People Before Profit Alliance (PBPA) People's Democracy Socialist Democracy Belfast Socialist Society Córas na Poblachta Clann na Poblachta Left Revolutionary Group Red Republican Party Labour Party of Northern Ireland (LPNI) Labour Party of Northern Ireland (LPNI) Independent Left Federation of Labour Fianna Uladh Northern Ireland Civil RIghts Association (NICRA) Labour '87 Labour Coalition Socialist Environmental Alliance (SEA) Left Forum Belfast Labour Party Northern Ireland Labour Party (NILP) Labour Party in Northern Ireland Independent Labour Party (Ireland) Commonwealth Labour Party Newtownabbey Labour Party International Class War Prisoners Aid (ICWPA) Sligo/Leitrim Independent Socialist Organisation Peace and Neutrality Alliance (PANA) Irish Socialist Republican Party Socialist Party of Ireland (1909) Communist Party of Ireland (1921) League for a Workers' Republic (LWR) Spartacist Group of Ireland League for a Workers' Vanguard Workers' League Ecology Party Green Alliance Green Party Irish Worker League Communist Party of Northern Ireland (CPNI) Irish Marxist Society Northern Ireland Ecology Party Green Party in Northern Ireland Fís Nua Revolutionary Workers' Groups Communist Party of Ireland Irish Workers' League Irish Workers' Party Communist Party of Ireland (CPI) Workers' Party of Ireland Irish Workers' Group Cork Communist Organisation Cork Workers' Club Peace Coalition Social Democrats Irish Workers' Union Irish Communist Group Left Alliance Campaign for Labour Representation Independents for Equality Movement Independents 4 Change Irish Communist Organisation (ICO) British & Irish Communist Organisation (BICO) Comhairle na Poblachta Communist Organisation in the British Isles (COBI) Communist Formation Aubane Historical Society Irish Revolutionary Forces (IRF) Saor Éire (Cork) Limerick Socialist Organisation Anti-Tribute League Republican Labour Party (RLP) Socialists Against Nationalism Democratic Socialist Party (DSP) New Agenda Democratic Left Irish Socialist Network (ISN) Socialist Party of Ireland (SPI) Socialist Republican Collective (SRC) Saoradh Workers' Revolutionary Party National Political Front National Party National Democratic Party Irish Republican Socialist Party (IRSP) Irish Working Farmers' Committee Irish Committee for a Socialist Programme Independent Socialist Party (ISP) Waterford People's Party Official Republican Movement (ORM) Saor Éire (1931) Republican Congress Sinn Féin (Official) Sinn Féin The Workers' Party The Workers' Party Sinn Féin (Pre 1970) New Earth League of Communist Republicans (LCR) Éirigí Sinn Féin (Provisional) Saor Éire Republican Network for Unity Ripening of Time Collective 32 County Sovereignty Movement Revolutionary Struggle Republican Sinn Féin Social Democratic & Labour Party (SDLP) Wolfe Tone Society Progressive Unionist Party The Internationalists Irish Communist Movement (Marxist-Leninist) Communist Party of Ireland (Marxist-Leninist) (CPI-ML)